top of page

Pepper Jelly Pimento Cheese Bacon Burgers


If there is ever a pimento cheese anything on a menu at a restaurant I order it! Pimento cheese is one of my absolute favorite dips and it is definitely a Southern staple. (Not sure what happened with the above photo! Please excuse its blurriness.)

On my birthday our sweet friends John and Haley introduced us to this gem of a restaurant/bar in Germantown, Mother's Ruin. I've never been to New York, but they said it reminded them of New York pub style bars with its galley like space. When you walk in there is a bar on one side of the room and table tops across the other side. Menus are located on the wall and ordering is only at the bar and seating is first come first serve. If the tables are full, not too worry, you can also stop in for an amazing cocktail and hang out somewhere in the middle of the room. And right now during our social distancing measures you can order takeout from 12pm-9pm every single day!

So long story short, Mother's Ruin introduced me to pepper jelly on pimento cheese and my life has never been the same! I have to credit them for helping me create this and so many other great pimento cheese recipes! I've been trying different pepper jelly pimento cheese options and since pimento cheese burgers are on regular rotation around these parts, I decided to add in the pepper jelly. You'd really be surprised how one small ingredient changes so much of the taste!

This recipe will make 4-6 burger patties depending on the size of your patty. We serve our bundles but you can for sure add these to your favorite type of roll or a bed of lettuce. Hope you enjoy!!

BURGER INGREDIENTS

ground beef

bacon

All purpose seasoning

PIMENTO CHEESE INGREDIENTS

7oz greek yogurt

1 cup cheddar cheese, grated

1 tbsp pimentos

pepper jelly

DIRECTIONS

1. Season beef with all purpose seasoning. Form burger patties. Heat 2 skillets over medium heat. In one begin cooking burger patties, in the other cook bacon. Cook burgers over medium heat for 4-5 minutes each side.

2. While bacon and burgers cook, grate cheese. Place greek yogurt in a medium bowl and season with all purpose seasoning. Add in grated cheese and pimentos and mix well.

3. Remove burgers and bacon from heat.

4. If going bunless apply pepper jelly directly to burger patty and top with bacon and pimento cheese. If use a roll, apply pepper jelly to the roll and stop with burger, bacon, and pimento cheese. I like to add a little dollop of pepper jelly to the top of the pimento cheese too!

If you make this or any of my recipes I would love to see your creations! Please tag me on Instagram @mirandasouthern!

bottom of page